Skip to content

BA Shared Topic: Starting over

March 15, 2010

If you had the chance to start all over again in WoW, but your char is already level 80, or level 1 depending on if you like to level or not :>. What class would you pick? What race? What faction? Why would you pick that class/race/faction? And most of all what would you plan to do with it? Raid, PvP or just hang out in Dalaran?

Zal in his twenties

Zal in his twenties

This is something I’ve given a lot of though to over the years, mostly because I’ve had several opportunities to roll up from scratch again. As I’ve previously mentioned, I’ve always felt happiest in a healer role, and even though I really enjoy being a DPS, I get the healer itch after a while. My friends have recently had to put up with my moaning about how much better things would be if Paladins were more like Shamans; however after spending a day on my Shaman healing TBC normals with a range of good to terrible groups, it’s like sinking into a warm bath to return to Zal. Sure, it may be a simple way to heal, but mana is never an issue, I can generally take whatever the instance churns up at me, and run in and hit things when I get bored.

In my Death knight days, I often felt like ‘Oh, if only I could start over.’ I was particularly inspired by our guild’s Paladin healer, although he wasn’t a nice individual, he was highly skilled in his role and made healing look fun for me again. I started to look at the Alliance as a proper possibility, for the first time ever. Humans were too chunky and generic, Dwarves were too compact and rough for my image of the proper Paladin. I use the addon Cosplay which allows you to target someone in the dressing room window and put different gear on them. I tried previewing the t7 and Naxx non-set gear on all 3 races, both genders. I was really impressed by how noble Draenei males looked with the Naxx non set gear. (The dark blue set, with the gold edging. Lovely set, even when I got Zal to Naxx and beyond he never got it!) I thought then – If I ever roll Alliance, that’s what I’m doing. A few months later my guild split, and I went and did just that, leveling with a mate of mine, a druid tank called Zanty who has since quit.

I loved leveling a Paladin. Each new spell came as a new experience to me. I remember exorcism pre-wrath screwing around with it. I was pleased that it coincided with the undead we met in Darkshire. I felt the charger we got fitted well with the class, even if I was a bit too big for it (see top right). The healing spells just felt the right way to do things. I guess I’ve always been a direct person when it comes to healing, prefering shields, Flash heal and CoH on my Holy priest over renew and PoM spams.

I loved raiding with him too! I learnt to do it from feeling, with only the EJ guide on Glyphs, Gemming and correct stats to help me. It really felt like the right way to do things, and little Zal has pushed through everything Wrath has to offer! So proud.

So this is coming from a guy who not only considered starting over, but went and did it! I met some lovely people on my new side, and haven’t looked back much since. If you truly think you’d be happier elsewhere, give it a go! And learn your new class properly! Seriously, it’s better that way.

-Zal

Level Eighty Happiness

Level Eighty Happiness

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 9:31 am

    Aww, we look awesome.
    Els looks gorgeous next to that great lump of space goat squid.
    And it’s fine, I’m ok with the rants and the QQ. I think we’ve balanced our QQ quite well. You get my moaning about professions and levelling, I get your moaning about characters and end-game.
    In fact, I do believe we spent roughly 24 hours this weeked – 12 hours both days – QQing at each other :P

    • Zal permalink*
      March 15, 2010 9:40 am

      24 hours? That’s a terrifying statistic. We are still Ying and Yang even in our rants? My goodness.

Trackbacks

  1. Goodness me « Blessing of Fish

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

