Skip to content

Lion Time Part 2

September 10, 2010

Remember a few weeks ago I saw the first announcements of a Lion Guild mount for the Alliance? I made a post about what I predicted they would do. And oh boy, did I call it! Here is a paraphrased version of the main points I made in that post.

Blizzard don’t tend to make new internal Skeletons for creatures if they can avoid it… there is already the generic ‘Cat’ skeleton ingame. It’s used for everything from Prowlers in the Barrens to Druid Cat form to the Night Elves racial mount. Different skins, same animated skeleton. We can assume they will do the same for Lions.… I assume they will be keeping some form of armour plating, and of course, the model will be done much higher polygon than my example…… Blizzard designs Lion mount in a Sandy Yellow colour as most Lions are, and gives it armour etc. It also has a blank zone across its back, in the same way a Guild Tabard is blank if you are unguilded, that will autofill with your guild logo when you ride it, like so:

And low and behold, Blizzard’s Version:I was right on nearly every count. They’ve bound it to the old cat animation skeleton, but made a brand new skin. They’ve given it armor plating, like I expected. There’s a blank zone down the side which Wowhead tells us is where a Guild crest will go. For the record, I’m not too keen on this model. It’s growing on me a little, but I would have preferred them to go the extra mile and make the whole thing change colour. Ah well. You can check out the 3D model here at Wowhead.

I called it!

-Zal

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pizzle permalink
    October 4, 2010 4:31 pm

    Hey, how did you get the Guild Logo from the Armory page? Is there a way to generate it, or did you straight cut it out and deleted the scrample next to it?

    • October 4, 2010 7:38 pm

      I just screencapped it and photoshopped it in. Sadly I don’t know of any decent tabard generators online!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

