Skip to content

Foolish Mistakes and Wild Successes

October 2, 2010

I know it’s been a while. I’m a busy person now. I’ve yet to figure out my life enough to feature all the things I want it to, so I’m sorting what I can, when I can. Fear ye not, I haven’t abandoned you all.

Raiding. Whether you find it hard or easy, stressful or relaxing, some things never change. And that is people’s tendency to make extremely badly timed mistakes. I don’t know what this is, whether humans breed some kind of ‘Doom Gene’ that makes you trip up at your wedding, forget your Graduation speech, or (more relevantly) press DI instead of Divine Shield when targetting the main tank and with the boss at 5% health.

No, don’t worry, I didn’t do that.

But amusingly enough, I did do this:

Yes. That is me, chaining ice blocks into the raid at 0.6% of the bosses health. 10 seconds earlier and I would have cost us the kill. As it was, there were enough people left to take off the last of her health, earning us the kill, achievement, and Rank #6th Guild on the server in terms of progression. And I nearly screwed it up. I don’t know how I managed it. As you can see, I wasn’t even healing at the time. I just thought I was in the right place, and I was wrong. Thankfully, in the joy of the kill, it was all pretty much forgotten. The people I’d locked down, and myself, were freed, and many celebrations were had.

But I still screwed up!

That fight is a tough one, but I could tell you the tactics back to front and would probably have had a less than friendly attitude if one of the other raiders had done it. Except it was me, and I don’t know how it happened.

The other foolish mistake of the evening belonged to a particular Warlock. As a treat for the guild after our first SG HC kill, we were taken to Ulduar to have a crack at Algalon the Observer (a fight I only recently did on 10 man, and never encountered on 25.) We gathered round the sparkly chap, in all his glory. Our raid leader started spooling off the tactics for people like myself and others who hadn’t ever tried this before. We listened intently, and he was about halfway through when suddenly – Algalon started yammering away about our presence, and how it was illogical. In other words, someone had engaged the encounter. There was a lot of swearing and hasty buffing, and we launched into the fight half prepared.

However, I always keep one eye on the screen when I’m listening, as people often add decent advice into the chat to go with tactics… and a particular Warlock minion wandered forward, took one wide axe swing at Algalon, and wandered off again. The master of this errant demon seemed to have no idea how it happened either, and didn’t stop apologising till way after it went down.

Everyone seems to do that sort of thing at some point. There isn’t a raider I’ve seen that hasn’t, at some point in their raiding career, done something so mind-bendingly stupid that wipes the raid (or seriously disadvantages them). I’ve seen respected and sensible people auto-run into bosses. I’ve seen bosses pulled through auto-shoot, Blink and Eye of Killrogg. I’ve seen accidental DIs, taunts from melee dps, heroism popped on trash and so on. I myself have probably made every mistake in the Paladin book. I have DIed a tank before now. I have cast Hand of Sacrifice on a tank when my bubble was on CD, one shotting myself. I’ve used lay on hands on a Hunter Pet that got in the way as I clicked on a tank. As a HEALER, I managed to accidentally taunt Sartharion.

Who knows what makes people do these things? Answers on a postcard, please…

-Zal

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 12:51 am

    Kurn has a story about how Majik got bored waiting for her or whoever the GL was to finish the strat for Gruul, and Blink-pulled him.

    Or something like that.

    There are people who just… somehow manage to accidentally do something epic and dumb, and then there are people like Majmaj, who are in a COMPLETELY different category, lol. :)

  2. Comito permalink
    October 6, 2010 1:47 pm

    My first mistake I think I’ve done, since I’m quite young in experience in WoW, is cleansing the buff for mutated abomination buff on the OT….. fail lol

  3. rilandune permalink
    October 8, 2010 2:49 pm

    Over the summer my guild was sitting in front of Rotface, buffing up and getting ready for the kill. I was messing around with my “crash’n thrash’n racer” that I had in my bag. I’m not certain what made me do it, but I pointed myself towards Rotface and hit the accelerate button on the racer. The encounter began, there was a moment of gasping and swearing in vent, then suddenly Rotface disappeared and we all dropped out of combat. I announced to the guild “I’m sorry! I broke ICC!” as we simply stood there with no boss in front of us. After I explained how I broke ICC, we all laughed, and a moment later he respawned and we made him dead. Good times! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

