Skip to content

Observations on April Fools

April 2, 2010
tags:
The Tuskarmory

I watched April fools Day go by with mild apprehension. In terms of Real life, it’s not something I’m a fan of. My opinions are mixed on the internet. There was certainly a lot of funny stuff around this year, including the Wow insider repaint to Twilight insider, amongst many others, Blizzard’s own E.P.E.E.N system and the invasion of Armory Tuskarrs (which incidently, has made me really want them as a playable race. Look at those awesome moves!) A few fellow bloggers got in on the whole business. Some people’s announcements were jokey and obviously fake. Some were worryingly genuine. A few people claimed they were quitting. It’s enough to scare the helm off a poor Paladin.

I’m not fond of the concept that ‘This is a day where you can’t trust anything,’ even though the pranking time is meant to finish after midday. A friend of mine who’s only applied to one university got a refusal yesterday morning. I personally thought that was a rather cruel thing for them to do, in light of the day; she was in tears, but a part of her was still hoping it was just a joke. Really harsh. As far as I know, it wasn’t a joke, I couldn’t see a respectable authority doing such a thing and I’ve received no word to the contrary.

I’ve never really participated in any pranks, but I’ve been fooled by a few myself. In the past, I’ve been lead to believe that a friend of mine was in hospital, someone had left water balloons above a doorway in regular use where I and many other used to study, and I’ve even seen people go so far as to break windows and blame it on other people. I don’t know, the whole thing seems rather puerile to me. Certainly a day which you need to be constantly on guard, and as the undead say, ‘Trust no-one!’

-Zal

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

