Skip to content

Rendered weapon sizes

April 23, 2010
tags:

The title of this post might be horribly inaccurate. I actually haven’t the foggiest clue what causes the problem I’m about to describe, feel free to comment and let me know. I just wanted to document the effects of what I will dub ‘lolweaponsizes.’ I was tanking on dear little Haxle, my female gnome warrior, (and scribe mule) using the heirloom weapon [Venerable Mass of McGowan]. I was running along between pulls and noticed it wasn’t a particularly big weapon, compared to things I’ve wielded in the past. Later, when I was actually attacking something, it seemed massive – the iron weight was approximately the size of her head. I have documented this here:

And just so you know this isn’t photoshopped, here’s two comparative screenshots, the ones I used to assemble the above diagram. Now I know that how big any gear, weapons and so on scale is down to what Blizzard have programmed. Compare the size of exactly the same shoulders between a Tauren and an Undead, or a Draenei and a Dwarf. Generally the thinner races have smaller shoulder models, so they don’t look over encumbered. Conversely, male Tauren, Orc and Draenei have the biggest, as they are the widest and largest torsos of any of the races. These things are similar with weapons – a sword that may be roughly 4ft long for a Troll is 6ft when wielded by a Tauren. Blizzard obviously have control over it. There was a fuss kicked up a few months back when they altered this mystery quality, and Human Female weapon sizes increased by a large amount. Some players were pleased, some were not. It was an intentional change, and it wasn’t reversed. From what I can see, there are two weapon sizes which have to be established – Wielded size and Sheathed size. I looked at a few of my alts, and there is a tiny amount of discrepancy between Wielded and Sheathed. None so obvious as Haxle’s tanking weapon, and probably not visible if you weren’t looking for it.

One amusing example of extremely bad weapon scaling is on the ‘Extra race’ models that are avaliable – namely items like the Iron Boot Flask which turns you into a Stormforged Dwarf for 10 minutes, or the Frenzyheart Brew which alters your form to a Wolvar. In both cases (and the abstract transformation/disguise questlines where you obtain the form of a random NPC race such as Murloc or Ogre) the sheathed weapon is massively smaller than the wielded one. Observe Zalduun’s retribution spec, with the Iron Dwarf Disguise on. In both shots, he has equipped the [Ramaladiddly Blade of Culling] (or whatever it is).

It’s like a spot the difference for the hard of thinking. This problem doesn’t annoy me too much, nor do I think it’s a priority to fix. It’s just a bit weird and confusing. I hope you have enjoyed being baffled with me.

-Zal

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 11:45 am

    The human female weapon size thing happened all the way back in TBC, more than a year ago. I can remember standing on my spot outside the Aldor bank, as I always did back then (/pine) and popping a Savory Deviate Delight and WOAH WHAT THE FUCK IS WITH THE SIZE OF MY CANDYFLOSS MACE. For the record, I don’t like the huage weapon scaling thing. It might look “cool” but realistically …

    • Zal permalink*
      April 23, 2010 3:43 pm

      Was it that long ago? I have really bad trouble remembering how long ago things are 😀 And yeah, only the really impressive weapons should be massive, there are some that would look better a lot smaller imo.

  2. April 23, 2010 3:40 pm

    Mount scaling is funny to me. I could stack like 3 belfs on a woolly mammoth and still not reach the size of a tauren on one 🙂 Technically it makes sense (especially for small mounts like chocobobirds) but its a freaking mammoth, it survived the ages lol

    • Zal permalink*
      April 23, 2010 3:45 pm

      Yep, Tauren proto drakes are hooge too!

Leave a Reply

