Skip to content

Symphony: The sounds in WoW

June 11, 2010

It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while, ever since some of my guildies admitted they raid with their ingame sound off. I personally couldn’t do this. A lot of my enjoyment of the game is enhanced by the ambient sounds and music they’ve picked for the zone, from ICC’s haunting music and undead screeches, to Winterspring’s twanging slow music and howling winds that I can hear in the background as I write this.

My favourite sounds:

  • Heroism. I love the ‘wheeeeey’ sound it makes, that sounds somewhere in between a crowd cheering and some form of instrument.
  • The proc from the talent ‘Infusion of light,’ as a Holy Paladin. It’s a talent that reduces the cast time on your next FoL to 0, and it has an awesome sound like a clock being wound backwards very fast.
  • The sound like an orchestra tuning up you get from the massive Priest AoE heal ‘Divine Hymn.’
  • All the bow sounds Hunters make.
  • The sound the Companion pet Crocalisks make. Nyerr.
  • The Draenei male cheer. Homer Simpson’s Woohoo!
  • The rumbles of thunder from Shaman’s chain heal.
  • The sound slime things make as they move, a kind of calm glooping sound. I find it endearing, for some reason.
  • Thaddius’s voice acting in Naxx, and his two minions. Scary, but cool.
  • Undead male DK’s emoting at all. (Incase you didn’t know, all DK’s have some level of voice modification for their emotes and combat sounds. All have echoey effects on them. The Female ones and the male Taurens remain the same in pitch, as they would sound weird deeper. All of the males, with two exceptions, are much deeper. The relevant exception is Undead male, who is already creepy and deep, so they have their pitch actually raised. They sound like they’re inhaling helium in a cathedral.)

My least liked sounds:

  • The sound of Mana Burn. It makes a sound like nails on a blackboard in an echoey room, and it normally means I’m about to be flattened by a Priest.
  • The sound of Spellsteal. The insolent little swooping sounds as a Mage removes all your best, high mana-to-recast spells.
  • Sindragosa’s voice acting.
  • Sinister strike. Way to loud for a move that needs to be spammed so much at lower levels for a rogue.
  • Most of the races and gender’s laugh sounds. They sound very fake, and annoying.
  • Troll male and Undead Female death sounds. I smacked you with an axe, not choked you with a lemon.
  • The sound of Sap. It just means bad news.
  • The sound an Elekk makes dying. It’s disturbing, and sad, all in one.
  • Lil’XT and Panderen monk doing anything.

I’m also really fond of the music in Karazhan and the epic Hellfire Peninsula music. Oh and pretty much any of the Nordic sounding stuff throughout Northrend. What are your most and least liked sounds?

-Zal

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 11:16 am

    The sound of stealth if you’re on a PVP realm always makes me paranoid as hell. Also the reason I HATE hunter cat pets having stealth on as default. My hunter has caused me more heart-attacks than anything else.

    • Zal permalink*
      June 11, 2010 11:45 am

      Hehe, I can imagine. It’s quite a nerve-wracking sound in PVP, although I have a Rogue on my arena team so I don’t quite associate it with my instance demise đŸ™‚

  2. June 11, 2010 5:02 pm

    I hate any sound my partner’s game makes while he’s playing. Because of the setup of our playing area, sound from his speakers echoes off the wall in front of me and sounds like it’s coming from mine. I can’t tell you how amazingly disorienting that can be in a raid! >.<

    Seriously, though. I love the music and sounds in the game, too, and I’m also stunned by the number of people that play with them turned off.

    I absolutely love Savage Roar’s sound. That’s the sound of a huge cat that’s about to tear some stuff up. I love collecting empty booze bottles and throwing them all around Dalaran to hear the glass break. The heavy ‘thuds’ that dragons make when they fall dead at your feet. Or the way those forsaken (lower case ‘f’, so as not to be confused with Forsaken) harpies scream when they die. And Auryia’s scream. Everyone hates it but me, it seems. But I grin every time.

    Stormwind’s music needs to DIAF. Or at least never, ever loop. It’s awesome the first time you ever walk into the city, but after 4 years it’s just too epic. It annoys the crap out of me now. The sound of an entire raid /train-ing when someone sets down a toy train set also sends me into irrational fits of rage.

    • June 11, 2010 5:06 pm

      Oh, and one more that I love. Yogg-Saronn’s voice emotes going into Phase 2. “I am the lucid dream. The monster in your nightmares.”

      Goosebumps. Every. Time.

      • Zal permalink*
        June 11, 2010 9:48 pm

        Ooo yes, I know what you mean with Yogg! Good voice acting, I wish he’d stayed all low and menacing throughout the whole thing. Echoes of C’thun.

  3. Lethdarr permalink
    June 11, 2010 6:53 pm

    tbh i love the voice acting coming from marwyn and falric in hor makes me chuckle everytime đŸ˜€

    This pear…… So delicious

    • Lethdarr permalink
      June 11, 2010 6:56 pm

      also one more i forgot, the sound my lil KT pet makes when it kills a critter and it makes that horrific laughter, i’m always like WTF is that!!

      Then realize..

      • Zal permalink*
        June 11, 2010 9:48 pm

        Hehe, I love those two as well! Shoulda put that…

  4. June 11, 2010 11:04 pm

    My favorite DK sound is still NE female DK. /cheer was especially hilarious during the Battle for Light’s Chapel.

  5. June 12, 2010 12:53 am

    The BE Female DK Laugh. Totally.

    If there was ever a Supervillain class, they’d have it cornered.

  6. June 12, 2010 6:45 pm

    I really very much agree with loving the thunder sound you get from Chain Heal. Lurve it.

    I also really hate the sound that an elekk makes as it’s dying đŸ˜¥ So sad!

  7. June 19, 2010 6:25 pm

    DK’s Heart strike always sounds like its missing, its like a whooosh rather than the sound of somthing actually striking.

  8. Kupix permalink
    June 19, 2010 9:45 pm

    HoS, Maiden of Grief, acting voice. damn, she is sooo great đŸ™‚
    “I hope you all rot! I never…wanted…this”

Leave a Reply

