Skip to content

Fishing where you shouldn’t

June 21, 2010

Hm, that title sounds vaguely disturbing now. Oh well.

I’ve been working through some unusual achievements recently. A little tree has got me into completing achievements, and I must say, there is something satisfying about it. I got the 160 cooking recipes one, the 50 pets one, and a few other misc cooking achievements. I’m some RNG luck in the Outland cooking dailies away from completing the last I need to become a Chef, so whilst that ticks over I’ve taken to working on my Fishing things.

Yesterday, I spent two hours in Orgrimmar. Not ganking noobs, not insulting passers by, not running from Horde. (Well, there was a little running from Horde, but I got away.) I was heading to a secluded spot, pictured above. It’s behind a water-fall in Org’s Valley of Honor, and for anyone with decent graphics, impossible to be physically seen behind. The lower you have your graphics settings, the more see-through the water-fall becomes, so I turned mine all the way down so I could tell if there was any Horde incoming. Not that it would have helped much if I did know of my impending demise, but there’s always the bubble-hearth option. There’s a better way to describe my experiences. Imagine a campfire, with the children of the races of Azeroth gathered round an elder in wide-eyed admiration as this bespectacled human tells them the tale of Ol’ Zal the fisherman.

Twas a dusty, unpleasant day. The heroic Zalduun steps off the boat at Ratchet. Ignoring an Orc Shaman by the name of Scumbucket (or some corruption of that, and coincidently the chap was still there five hours later when I returned on a different errand) Zal mounts up on his massive green Elekk, and rides confidently towards the cities. He is a Paladin, he has no need of stealth! As he approaches the west entrance, he decides to err on the side of caution, and drink six pygmy oils. And remount on a mechanostrider. Now in the guise of a female voodoo gnome and riding a metal battle-chicken and, more importantly, a quarter of his previous size, Zal dashes past the guards on the gate and legs it to the Valley of Honor. He (she?) dives behind the waterfall and waits for the big -Combat to go scrolling by. He she it Zal shuffles back into the corner as far as he she possible and applies a lure to the Kaluak Fishing Rod of Doom. And casts. The first cast of the rod nets Zal that wonderfully simple achievement – The Fishing Diplomat, to fish up something in both Orgrimmar and Stormwind. But Zal is here for a greater purpose. The time drags on. Zal’s Draenei goodness sprouts from his gnomish subtlety. The famed fish, Old crafty, eludes my Paladin like a sap-happy rogue. More time passes. Zal uses his Sindorei orb, in case the fish is more sympathetic towards Horde fishers. This didn’t work. Two hours later, Zal admits defeat (for now) and I realise I have to be somewhere else. So I hearth, vowing one day to return.

Thus begins the Ballad of Old Crafty, most devilish fish in all of Kalimdor. I’ll keep ya’ll posted.

Another thing I’ve been doing is looking for the Scavenger pools in Old world, and the things never spawn. Not for me, anyway. The fishing stuff seems an awful lot harder than the cooking stuff. I’m one of the few people in-game who actually like fishing, and don’t feel it is an offence on the soul of decency. And yet the achievements elude me! Grr.

Ah well. I’ll get there. I’ll show ’em!

-Zal

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 2:17 pm

    Best of luck fishing up Old Crafty! The fishing achievements can be more difficult than some of the others, I think just because of the RNG involved. I spent some time fishing up Mr. Pinchy; that took awhile but makes for a fun pet. (Something that has both a pet and fishing?! I didn’t take much convincing).

    I hope you’re able to finish off the other fishing achievements you’ve set your sights on. 🙂

    • Zal permalink*
      June 21, 2010 4:26 pm

      Yeah, RNG and low low drop rates make for a long time spent. I do like fishing though, and as I’m done on cooking as of today I’m really going to crack on with those achieves! 🙂

  2. June 21, 2010 11:34 pm

    Oh God, I absolutely LOVE that trackback! Ha. “He she it Zal..” xD

    Got Old Crafty on Fae when it was bugged, haven’t even attempted either that or Ironjaw since. I’d like to find a secluded spot for Ironjaw sometime, should be sort of safe on Vashj at least.. barely any Alliance left.

    • Zal permalink*
      June 22, 2010 8:36 am

      Massive imbalanced numbers for the win :p I didn’t even see any Horde when I rode through Orgrimmar, it’s much worse on Terenas than it was in TBC. I bet its Silvermoon never sees a soul pass through it.

  3. June 25, 2010 3:01 am

    I enjoyed your little RP bit at the bottom 🙂

    Good luck fishing up Old Crafty! I remember going to Orgrimmar with Lus to fish him up… big excitement making our way in to the falls… then nothing, nothing, nothing for the longest time. I actually managed to catch him after several hours, but Lus had had enough and we both hearthed out, haha.

  4. June 25, 2010 4:52 pm

    Old Crafty is a pain in the butt to catch, took me 2 tries, logging out in Ogrimmar and logging back in to get him. Did it at about 2-3am server time to minimize interruptions as my servers Ogrimmar has a pretty good population of PVP ready players. I think it took about 4 hours total fishing time.

    The fishing achievements can be a challenge, I still need to win a tournament and go into that Outland raid instance to fish up something.

Trackbacks

  1. Lansete » Blog Archive » Fishing where you shouldn't « Blessing of Fish

Leave a Reply

