Skip to content

Well, I can be happy now

July 13, 2010

I realise I’ve been doing an awful lot of Completely Self Serving posts recently. This trend will pretty much be halting now because I’ve finally achieved the thing I’ve been working towards all this time. Since I first stepped into Northrend, I knew I wanted to complete this expansion. I found it frustrating in TBC that we never downed Illidan, not even with the massive nerfs. My guild then had other focuses. This expansion, I started out on the other side (Alliance) and decided this was the character (Zal) I really wanted to make great.

I’ve been working on that for a long, long time. When Zal levelled, I made sure he dipped into every instance, killed every boss and got all the best loot he could. When he hit 80, I spent my considerable savings on giving him the best gear I could (for the first Tier of raiding, this was Naxx time). I got accepted into a guild, raided for two tiers. I moved to Flames, one of the best guilds I have been in. I raided with them for a further two tiers, and had a whale of a time, meeting people I would never wish to forget. Then I moved to Praetorian Guards, who are also a lovely bunch. With them, this week, I have conquered bosses I hadn’t seen yet on normal mode on 25 heroic.

I am now, as of the evening of the 13th of July 2010,  Zalduun the Kingslayer.

Best. WoW. Moment. Ever.

It only saddens me that Elsen couldn’t be there for the kill, who has wanted him dead just as much as me. It’ll happen for her too, and I hope I’m there on the attempt she gets it. It would have been great to have killed him with all of my old friends around me, but such thoughts are just wishful, impossible dreams. I’m happy to have achieved it.

It’s a fun fight, but bloody tough in places. I admit to having struggled with the tactics. There’s something in my head that stops me absorbing large amounts of information, let alone retaining it, no matter how many strat videos I watch or guides I read. I think my favourite bit was when we all died (the deliberate time.) The numbers were impressive. I was suprised how much I resisted. I eventually got used to the fight, as I do, and I think I would slide back into it next time. I look forward to next time, and I hope I can continue to hone my skills to earn my place in Praetorian Guards.

My point, anyway. Occasionally I see people with the titles of Hand of A’dal or Champion of the Naaru. I wish I had those, on any character. I certainly put the time and raiding effort in in TBC, but sadly it never happened. I am therefore delighted to have basically ‘completed’ the expansion to my own satisfaction, and to boldly walk into Cataclysm with my metaphorical medals for all to see. Gear is replaced and Guilds can fall, but memories and Titles last forever.

-Zal the Kingslayer

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 9:36 pm

    Congrats 🙂 Got it just before I took my break along with a new trinket – it’s damn nice to feel like I’ve got a complete character now.

  2. July 14, 2010 2:18 am

    Congratulations!

  3. July 14, 2010 6:57 am

    Huuge gratz. Our team is 1 kill off from the same after a very late start. For now I’ll hang around with my First Sergeant tag 😀

  4. July 15, 2010 4:25 am

    Congratulations, Kingslayer!

Leave a Reply

