Skip to content

Violet Success

August 12, 2010

Many a day has passed since I got my Karazhan achievement. It’s been far too long since I last played Chess properly. I’d almost forgotten about Malchezar, and the legions he commands…

However, Kara was on my list titled ‘Seriously man, get this done before Cataclysm.’ Why? Three reasons.

  1. I had three quests in my quest log for the place that I hadn’t finished. Kill Nightbane, Kill Malchezar, Get Exalted.
  2. I was one run off being Exalted. Achievement & Quests.
  3. The place is going away in Cataclysm.

As far as we know, Kara is becoming part of the world, along with some of the other more lore-outdated instances. So, given that I had all this to do, when I saw a raid of 70’s asking for 80 healers to Kara, I decided enough waiting was enough, and offered myself up to them. (I could quite easily do a long ranty post on ‘Why I don’t heal low level things’ but it’d be along the same vein as my other healing complaints – not enough spells, massive overheal, no AoE. Same reason I dps/tank heroics.)

So. The group actually managed to clear the whole place in around an hour and a half. I got my Exalted achievement around Illhoof, and had maxed 999/1000 by Chess. I may have been doing the ingame equivalent of going ‘look, a bird!’ and then surreptitiously pulling a large skipped trash pack with my long range Judgements. Well, it’s all rep, and I did join on the provider of a full clear.

Anyway, past a few minor hitches*, we cleared it. Outside, I handed in those three quests that have clogged up my log for the best part of 14 months. Happy happy. I walked away with the top rank of my Violet Signet, which I will keep in the bank to look back and reminisce at, and a trip to Dalaran Crater later, a Violet Badge. Had this been TBC, I would now be raid ready for Tempest Keep, with a pro +45 Arcane Resistance Trinket like that. It joined the Ring in the bank.

That’s another place 100% complete. Woot for that. I suggest you finish anything Kara related as soon as possible…

-Zal

*Hitches like a Mage running off and being one shot by trash and the group scattering to try and find where ‘tht room with teh stuff in’ was to rezz him. And our tank tanking Netherspite against the wall so that two of the portals were through walls and uncrossable. Hitches like that.
Edit: It would appear Kara is not going away in the expansion. This idea of mine came from a thread very early on in the Cata Beta (might even have been Alpha) where someone reported the new flight path and a Kara ‘that could no longer be entered.’ It’s entirely possible that instances and raids hadn’t yet been booted up on those servers. This is what I get for reading forum threads.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 1:35 pm

    “The place is going away in Cataclysm.”

    Wait, what? Really? Where did you see this, I wanna go read more.

    • August 12, 2010 1:46 pm

      You know, I went and looked, and I now can’t find where I read it. I will edit this when I find it!

  2. August 12, 2010 3:44 pm

    If Kara is going away, wouldn’t they logically delete the rep that went along with it too? I mean, you might get a Feat of Strength for it, but I can’t imagine them keeping a rep around that has no possible way of being increased. Oo;;

  3. August 12, 2010 5:17 pm

    The instance isn’t going away. The outside is now flying mount enabled but you can still enter the instance.

Leave a Reply

