Skip to content

League of Arathor: Check

August 29, 2010

My dear friends. I have finally completed step two of three. I now have both the Knight of Arathor Achievement, and the Arathor Battle Tabard (for I was fortuitous enough to have a 5 base win the match immediately afterwards.) One happy, happy Paladin here. Over the course of my grind, I’ve fought alongside many different friends. A regular companion in the intermediate stages of the grind (and the person that forced me to return when I fled to alts or different content!) was the most awesome Ms Elsen. In the final push from 19k upwards, I was helped a lot by my old awesome Horde buddy Huntyman, as well as my tough-as-nails arena buddy Mcbiggish. Thanks to all three of you!

I learnt a lot from my time in there, most of which I posted four days ago. A few more things along those lines then:

  • Finding a good place to defend from is an excellent idea. In fact, with a Mammoth, you can defend it from atop the roofs of Lumber mill or Stables! Blizzard don’t really seem to mind people doing this, so I suggest you take full advantage of this (especially as a ranged.) There are plenty of videos on Youtube of how to do this.
  • Don’t get sucked into arguments in /bg. Really.
  • For gods sake, buff people at the start. It doesn’t cost that much, and you wouldn’t not buff a raid just because you were expecting them to wipe on the first trash. Give them a fighting chance!
  • If you can jump across the floating wreckage in the water around the Blacksmith without touching the water, you are the coolest person in the Battleground.
  • Don’t go up against a Shadow Priest 1v1.
  • Do not stand on the edge of LM. Staying alive when an Ele shaman comes along beats observing the game.
  • Resist the temptation to dance naked when defending. There will be a Rogue nearby.
  • The people you are fighting against are human (behind the keyboard. At least, we assume.) Therefore they can be tricked, confused, disorientated and pissed off in all the many ways you can think of.
  • In reference to the last point, people are stupid. They let themselves be kited. Pop a damage mitigation cooldown and make rude gestures at the defenders of a base from out of attackable range. Whilst the infuriated enemy are chasing you, have a friend go and cap the base. I spent two minutes once leading a DK, a Ret pala and a Frost Mage round and round the Blacksmith building whilst a Mage on our side capped the base.
  • Pets, minions, demons – all tauntable. Get them off the healer.
  • If that Priest has just mind controlled one of your team, don’t attack the team member. Attack the Priest (and interrupt them if you are capable.)
  • Don’t fight on the damn roads.
  • You can heal? Great! You can’t? Carry food, pots and bandages. Don’t expect the hybrid who’s fighting three people to save your ass.
  • The Scarecrow at the farm really is watching you.
  • No matter how hard this grind gets, it’s gotta be better than Warsong Gulch.

That’s about the long and short of my wisdoms. After crunching out another few attempts at Mr Rivendare, I will be leaping headfirst into Silverwing Sentinels (WSG Rep) at which I am currently sitting at 2940/6000. I hope that one day soon you’ll see an ecstatic Zal jumping around with Justicar over his head.

-Zal

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 9:56 pm

    Man, I would seriously LOVE to get Justicar. But I am absolute CRAP at PvP, and it’s not really my favourite anyway. 😄 I don’t think I’d have the patience to rep grind for it.

    • August 30, 2010 9:07 am

      It has been a bit of a slog for me. And I enjoy PvP 😛 This is one of the things I’d definitely say ‘Don’t unless you have hours and hours of time and pretty near limitless patiences for both sides stupidity!’

Leave a Reply

